By release date and timeline

ASSASSIN’S Creed is a popular open-world action-adventure franchise that garnered huge worldwide acclaim when it first burst onto the scene in 2007.

In total, the series has 12 entries, some of which are linked by overarching stories with characters that appear in multiple games.


Assassins Creed from one of the most popular game franchises in historyCredit: document

The franchise’s timelines date back to ancient Greece in the 21st century – depicting a fictional struggle between Assassins and Templars.

Any player wishing to play the entire collection has two ways to go about it.

They could play the games in the order they were released, or for a truly immersive experience, follow the franchise in chronological order.

We’ve put together a guide to completing the series one way or another below.

Assassin’s Creed franchise release order

Here are the Assassin’s Creed games in release order, along with their launch dates.

To keep things concise, we haven’t included mobile games or cross-platform spin-off titles.

  • Assassin’s Creed (2007)
  • Assassin’s Creed II (2009)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood (2010)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Revelations (2011)
  • Assassin’s Creed III (2012)
  • Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag (2013)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Red (2014)
  • Assassin’s Creed Unity (2014)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate (2015)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Origins (2017)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey (2018)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Valhalla (2020)

Chronological order of Assassin’s Creed games:

You can also play the games in the order they were set.

A lot of games jump in time, so we took the earliest date the campaign takes place.

  • Assassin’s Creed Odyssey (431 – 404 BC)
  • Origins of Assassin’s Creed (49-43 BC)
  • Assassin’s Creed Valhalla (872-878 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed (1191 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed II (1476-1499 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood (1499-1507 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Revelations (1511-1512 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag (1715-1722 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed: Snape (1752 – 1776 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed III (1754 – 1783 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Unity (1776-1800 AD)
  • Assassin’s Creed Syndicate (1868 AD)
The series depicts a fictional struggle between the Assassins and the Templars


The series depicts a fictional struggle between the Assassins and the TemplarsCredit: document

Will there be another Assassin’s Creed?

In 2021, Assassin’s Creed developers Ubisoft revealed that they were working on an online-only version of Assassin’s Creed.

Called Assassin’s Creed Infinity, their new title is expected to feature several settings that evolve over time, much like the sprawling maps in multiplayer games like Fortnite.

Previous Assassin’s Creed games were each set in specific historical settings such as Ancient Greece or Ptolemaic Egypt.

Infinity, on the other hand, “will contain multiple settings with room to expand to more in the months and years following its debut,” Bloomberg said, citing unnamed sources.

“Individual games on the platform may look and feel different, but they will all be connected.”

The game’s release date is unclear, but Bloomberg warned that the ambitious title is “years away”.

A Ubisoft spokesperson declined to discuss the game in detail but confirmed its existence.

Comments are closed.